Back to business.

My apologies for the hiatus. It has been a busy couple of weeks, but things are starting to slow down a little bit.

Here’s a video that I made to accompany a story last week. A local military base called Corry Station puts on an annual Army-Navy game the morning that the academies play the Army-Navy game on TV.

It’s nothing fancy. I just wanted to capture the mood of the game and the atmosphere.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Now this brings me to more interesting business. Vimeo has been my video host of choice because they offer free high-definition video hosting, and even in low definition (like the video above) their quality is better than anything else I’ve found on the Internet.

But from the looks of it, YouTube is now getting in on the high-definition action as well.

You may have to click the “Watch in high quality” button under the player. Here’s one of my favorites.

But there are a couple of drawbacks:

First, I have a hard time downloading the YouTube videos fast enough to watch them in high quality without having to pause and let the progress bar get a good head start.

Second, the videos aren’t full high definition, although they are a better quality than I ever would have expected from YouTube.

Vimeo still has the edge in my book, but I’ll give a big tip of the hat to YouTube for adding some much-appreciated quality to their well-established focus on quantity.

I’m anxious to see if they can start pulling in some of the striking and dazzling content that can be found at Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

