Early morning assignment

I was driving to an assignment pre-daylight on Wednesday. Another triple threat, photo, video and story, on a new Marine Corps obstacle course on Pensacola Naval Air Station.

Everything was going wrong. It was super foggy, and the gate guards hassled me and made me wait for awhile before they let me on base. I got lost in the fog trying to find the obstacle course, and I was worried that the weather would make any pictures look terrible.

But when I finally made out the course through the fog, my attitude changed quickly.

Fog makes obstacle courses look…awesome.

Marines at Pensacola Naval Air Station climb the final obstacle on a new combat conditioning course that was completed in October.

Marines at Pensacola Naval Air Station climb the final obstacle on a new combat conditioning course that was completed in October.

I did some quick edits and sent off the photoset to my friend Cheryl Guerrero, who is an incredible photographer, and asked for some advice on which to keep and which to toss. Here’s the gallery I ended up with:

Here’s the video. The story is up on pnj.com: Marines take on obstacle course

Vodpod videos no longer available.
Leave a Reply

