Robots on a really late Penscola post.

I have been sitting on this post for a LONG time, but now that I’ve finally gotten the video up on Vimeo, it’s time to talk about how it’s the little assignments that surprise you.

A month or so ago, our neighbors editor asked me to shoot a video of a high school robot competition that was going on at the University of West Florida. It was on a weekend, and I was working, so I thought, “Sure, why not?”

It kind of sounded like fun. The editor didn’t know very much about the competition, so I imagined it as a big classroom full of future engineering students using robot forklifts to move books from the floor to the table or something.

I couldn’t have been more wrong.

This thing was intense. Marching bands, cheerleaders, thousands of students packed into a gymnasium — it had it all.

I was pushing my way through the crowd, shooting video, having to scream to ask people questions. After an hour or so, I ran into our photographer, and he looked just as dumbfounded as me.

“This place is CRAZY!” he said.

And as a bit of a science geek myself, I couldn’t be any happier that it was. Maybe there’s some hope for the Nintendo generation after all.

Leave a Reply

