There’s a new (singing) sheriff in town…

I didn’t get off to a great start with Pensacola’s (well, Escambia County’s) new sheriff, a man named David Morgan. But I’ll have to admit, at an early morning assignment today, he redeemed himself a little bit.

MLK Prayer Breakfast

The first time I met David, he scolded me and called me a “young man” while wearing a face that looked a lot like the above photo. I never would have thought that the no-nonsense, budget cutting, new sheriff in town would be the type to get behind the podium and belt out a soul song. But this morning, he did just that.

At a MLK Jr. prayer breakfast at The Wright Place, in downtown Pensacola, after being egged on by a couple hecklers in the crowd, David leaned into the microphone and sang “I Know a Change Gonna Come” by Sam Cooke.

img_9107

“It’s been a looooooong, long time coming. But I know a change gonna come…”

I was impressed. He might have even smiled a little bit. (!)

Not to be outdone, School Superintendent Malcolm Thomas (without anyone asking, incidentally) sang a soulful version of “Amazing Grace.” He was getting pretty in to it by the end.

MLK Prayer Breakfast

So, all in all, this turned out being a pretty fun way to start the morning. Definitely the most fun I’ve ever had in church.

MLK Prayer Breakfast

img_9128

img_8999

MLK Prayer Breakfast

MLK Prayer Breakfast

MLK Prayer Breakfastimg_8982

Leave a Reply

