Buddy didn’t make it.

Just before 9 p.m. Friday night, a fire call came across the scanner. I got an address and headed out the door.

img_9274

Half of a duplex apartment burned on Highway 98 near Blue Angel Parkway. Firefighters were able to put it out easily. The woman that lived there wasn’t home.

But Buddy was.

img_9281

Buddy was a little rat terrier. He was unconscious in his corner when firefighters broke down the front door and entered the smoky, fire-filled living room. They worked on him for about 15 minutes, but couldn’t bring him back.

The woman holding him is named Wendy. She lives next door and said she tried to bring Buddy back to life, but she couldn’t do it.

“Buddy was everybody’s friend,” she said.

img_92891

Buddy’s owner plays in a band on Friday nights and wouldn’t be home until after midnight. Wendy told firefighters she’d hold buddy until then.

“This is her child; it’s her baby,” Wendy said. “She’s going to be heartbroken. She’s not even going to care about the house. She’s going to be heartbroken over this puppy.”

I called my editor, and he said not to worry about coming back to the newsroom to write a story. It wasn’t really big news, so he typed something quick up, and said I could head home for the night.

When I got there my dog Barrett came running to meet me at my front door, just like he always does.

img_9285

Good boy Buddy.

One Response to Buddy didn’t make it.

  1. PJ says:

    This is really heartbreaking, I can’t imagine what it would be like to come home to something like this.

    I like your camera work here there’s something about it that really draws me in. I hope this blog helps you develop your gift for storytelling,

Leave a Reply

