Too cool. HDR is a new hobby.

I’m a bit of photo purist. I never really got into the whole HDR thing. But the more I think about it, the more it interest’s me as a photographer. It’s almost like having ISO1600 and ISO60 chilling together on the same roll of film, just waiting  around to be of use whenever they can.

So after a sailing trip got cut short this afternoon due to excessive wind, I made a handful of HDR images.

Nothing much, but pretty fun given how easy they are to shoot and produce.

jdrblog2

hdrblog1

hdrblog3

All you do is set AEB (auto exposure braketing) to shoot +2 0 -2, then import the three exposures into  a program called Photomatix.

It gives you some sliders to slide and you’re done.

I probably didn’t slide my sliders around just right. So far I’ve been tending towards making the photos look more realistic, but I may get away from that in the future.

One Response to Too cool. HDR is a new hobby.

  1. PJ says:

    From what I understand HDR has been around for a long itme. I know people who do serious work with it, here are a couple of them:

    http://saintlouismodailyphoto.blogspot.com/
    http://scottygraham.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

